Asphodels-New Single ‘Milk’

Thomas Bowes / 13-03-2019

Asphodels-New Single ‘Milk’

  • Thomas Bowes
  • 13-03-2019

Asphodels, a critically reviewed West Yorkshire based band, recently released their new single ‘Milk’. With ethereal backing from the guitars (AJ Byrnes, Denholm Horn), a surreal bass (Ryan Oldfield) and grounding beats from the drums (Jack Otty), Byrnes’ vocals have an echo of Matt Bellamy in an alternative rock single that forms an intense, yet dream-like, landscape of sound. With supportive reviews and having airplay on BBC Introducing West Yorkshire, this single, and the band itself, is well on its way to receiving the recognition it deserves.

Since debuting in 2017 with their widely popular single ‘Cherished’, Asphodels have found support from across the UK, America and mainland Europe. Throughout the gap between these two singles, they’ve been supporting bands such as Sløtface, Saint Agnes and Colour of Spring in numerous events throughout York.

After the release of this critically acclaimed single, I believe it’s high time for this band to headline after two years of sitting in the back row.